Mini Game Review – Wizard’s Choice

Update (8/11/13): Guess what people, the Wizard Choice walkthroughs are now available! Follow the links below:

Wizard’s Choice Walkthrough: Volume 1

Wizard’s Choice Walkthrough: Volume 2

Wizard’s Choice Walkthrough: Volume 3

Wizard’s Choice Walkthrough: Volume 4

Wizard’s Choice Walkthrough: Volume 5

Wizard’s Choice Walkthrough: Volume 6

 

Role playing games have come a long way hasn’t it? Modern gaming, in one way or another, is a role playing experience where your choices have consequences either good or ill. A lot of people would credit Dungeons & Dragons as the role playing originator, and it’s true in many ways, but actually RPG roots are found in books. Some call them ‘Gamebooks’; others call them ‘Choose your own adventure’ (or ‘CYOA’) books, but whatever they were called they would ultimately give the reader the ability to take on the role of the main character AND choose his or her own destiny.  A nice bit of history but what does that have to do with this game review? In a world of super phones and e-readers Gamebooks can not only make a return to the forefront of personal entertainment – but can reinvent the wheel thanks to the new technology available: The Wizard’s Choice series (by Sam Landstrom) is a perfect example of this.

 

Basically you play as a nameless male wizard (sorry ladies) who’s personality will be defined as you play through the stories. He starts innocently enough hunting in the woods with his friend, but as you progress he discovers the world is in dire straits from demons, necromancers, and more. In order to set things right (and get rich doing it) the wizard must gain allies, acquire knowledge and most of all make wise choices; every turn you make or person you confide in may either give you an edge or an edge at your throat. Wizard’s Choice, as mentioned, is a gamebook so the game play is simple enough to learn: you read a passage & you’re given choices on how to proceed. Whether it was a good move or a fatal error is determined by the player’s stats, which are health, mana, gold, and morale, and how they’re affected.

 

Health is needed to live (duh), once reduced to zero you’re dead (again duh). Mana is needed for your special attacks like fireballs, illusions, and controlling spells; they can protect you from harm or obligate your enemies, but mana doesn’t regenerate easily (sorry no blue mana potions here) so pick and choose wisely. Gold, like mana, can help you out of a sticky situation but generally is use to buff your total score at the end. Morale won’t help you in the stories, but you gain them by being chivalrous or getting past problems like a true wizard (intelligently). Like gold however Morale points help in your final score, in fact, Morale points act as multipliers so if you want that high score you might have to act like a goodie-good. So in order to survive smart players must know when to take it, when to give it, when to paid for it, or just let it go.

 

 

Ranking

 

Almost a month ago I got the Window 7 phone, a great piece of tech by all accounts, but the salesman did warn me the app department was a little weak. He wasn’t kidding either but in my need to find at least one good game app I kept searching until I was awarded for my diligence. The first Wizard’s Choice story was free so I had nothing to lose, but it didn’t turned out as I thought – it was better. Challenging, a good read, and a nice use of game stats made me want to buy the other stories (two others in total, at a dollar a pop) – they were longer and more satisfying by tying the other stories together. I’m not sure if this is available on iPhones (iTouches or iPads) but for WP7 owners for a pension for role play there’s no reason not to get this gamebook app. Sure it could use some customizing (I’d rather be warrior than a wizard) and some of the choices are deceptively hard – at the end of the day the Wizard Choice was the right choice.

 

 

 

6 Comments

  1. I’m so confused. I get right to the end, I get three demon choices I pick the one who helped me earlier, I get the three choices of what to hold onto, I’ve tried them all and yet still I die in every single senario. I’ve played the game a million times a million different ways. Any help?

    • I definitely understand where you’re coming from, the Wizard Choice series greatest strength and biggest weakness is how challenging it can be. I haven’t play it in a while, but I will send you an abridged walk-through as soon as I can.

      • I also seem to keep finding the wrong path(s) and dieing. Any chance you could send that help to me too, Boss Bronze?

      • No prob, I’ll send you my abridged walk through right now.

  2. i keep having the same prob with the demons and each one i work with i end up dead because being controlled is a fate far worst than death and i dont know where i go wrong on my choices and secnarios with the demons. can u send me a vid or instruction walk through to help me over come this obstacle >_<

    • It’s been almost two year and this awesome title still keeps people guessing. ShadowXninja and all Wiz choice players don’t worry, in the very near future I’ll post my master list walk through of the game and all chapters. Stay tuned.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

