Game Review: Call of Duty – Ghosts

wz__pdre11xi_large_verge_medium_landscape

 

Ah people we are lucky because not only do we have the next great console war just right around the corner, but the latest military shooter war has just begun: Battlefield v Call of Duty. Yes those two IPs have been going at it forever and a day now and while Battlefield 4 is more of the same, Call of Duty – Ghosts decided to be a little different.

 

My new theme song people, just take it in…

 

Normally in the Modern Warfare era of games the protagonist force (usually American) are fighting against terrorists or traitors set to collapse the world. We win of course, but in ghosts not so much. A new superpower known as the Federation hi jacked one of world’s most powerful weapons and laid waste to a lot of the U.S.A. Now little more than a loose collection of fighters; they (and by extention us) must rally back and drive the Feds from our soil. But hey, I know and you know people don’t play CoD for the story but for the legendry multiplayer – so how does that fare? It starts strong with a bunch of playable modes, wide selections of weapons, customizable soldiers, new locals to fight in, killstreaks, perks, and a lot of unlockables a plenty. However as I played the matches I’ve noticed some key differences this game had from previous games in the series. For one it doesn’t look as good; MW 2 & 3 had some pretty vibrant stages that had personality about them – Ghosts does not (Jungle, Factory, Ruin, repeat). Another thing about the stages is that (save for one) they are very pro camping; if you got a silencer, a high caliber weapon, and the right perks you be killstreaking in nothing flat (and woe to you if your on the wrong end of those cross hairs). The killstreaks and perks are here, like I said before, but some of them are nerfed and not as useful as they used/should to be. I have more examples but the only other one I’m going to bring up it the most annoying of the problems. Like previous games unlocking things in multiplayer requires doing challenges (kill ‘x’ with ‘y’ 125 times), and they return here, but unlike previous games where the challenges were automatically counted every time you fulfilled the requirement. In Ghosts you have to manually select the challenges and have them active to order to complete them and get the rewards – which is stupid. Seriously I don’t know how many hours I’ve wasted trying to unlock things for my soldier just to find out that the challenges I was doing weren’t manually active and thus all that work wasn’t registered… Bah! With all this commentary I still haven’t answered the question: how does it fare? After untold hours of playing the different modes, trying different weapons, and fine tuning my loadouts I’ve come to the decision that’s… It’s alright. Even after my cripes and clearly not being the same kind of fun as the past games (for one reason or another) the multiplayer in Ghosts does the job and can be fun once you get going. My advice: start playing on your own in squads so you can earn unlock medals without having to deal with grievers and spazes. Once you have the medals you can get your choice of goodies and start creating your loadouts sooner. Call of Duty: Ghosts is not a flawless solider and is a little green, but I’ve played far worst shooters out there. Give it a red box rental, if nothing else you’ll kill a couple of hours (among other players online).

 

 

Rating

Pass-sign

 

 

 

 

 

1 Comment

  1. Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It truly helpful &
    it helped me out much. I’m hoping to present something again and aid others like
    you helped me.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

